Bake Often? Use Glass, not Metal

Before I start ranting about the awesome qualities of glassware I want to set a foundation for why I think stuff like this is important. I am a firm believer that in consuming durable goods, it’s worth it to get the more expensive of the two options you’re debating. In general, you get what you pay for so the extra 23% will go a long way in the overall lifetime of the product. However, this is not my buying philosophy for nondurable goods like food. I am all for store brand medications and  generic food. For that stuff, it’s all the same. And if something generic isn’t as good as the brand name, you’re only going to have it for a little while and then it will have expired or you finished it.

When buying pans, I would recommend buying glassware instead of metal pans. I’m not saying that you should forgo splurging on hummus so you can get a Pyrex 9×5 pan, but if you find yourself baking your food a lot like I do, find the size you want/need and spring for glass if you can. You can wait for it to go on sale, but that’s hard to come by since glass doesn’t expire. I did recently come by a Pyrex 9-inch pie dish for $2 (score!).

When comparing glass pans with metal pans, the biggest pro for me is that  I’ll never have to deal with warped glass pans. This may not be a big deal for you, but a non-flat cooking surface will affect cooking times and food quality. Say I’m baking chicken in a marinade, if the pan is warped, the marinade will pool in the middle of the pan so some parts will not be good as others. Plus, it’s annoying to try to take the pan out of the oven and it shifts and splashes around, which can be dangerous.

Another is that metal pans will always scratch and the finish will come off. You can cook it in, but once you try to cut something up to take it out, you’ll cut up the bottom and maybe even lift up some of the finish with your food. Gross. I’m also biased against Teflon finishes because the pan will only be good for a few years and then the Teflon eventually comes off. Suffice it to say, I won’t buy a non-stick pan if I don’t have to, which is never so I don’t do it. Maybe I’m not buying quality Teflon. What are your Teflon experiences? Comment below!

Another is that metal pans STICK to oil stains like its their lifeblood. If you’re not absolutely VIGILANT about scrubbing metal pans right after using them, it’s there forever. Let me be clear that this has nothing to do with cooking as far as I know, it’s purely aesthetic, but who wants to eat last year’s oil stain with their brownies?

What do you guys think? Am I just not buying good quality metal pans? Let me know what you think in the comments!

What are your thoughts?

